Growing Pains

Since the Boyfriend is a total night owl and stays up until ungodly hours every night; bedtime in our house is girl time; when the Kid and I hang out together and read books, or play Minecraft and Words With Friends. If we’re really tired, we just snuggle and play Five Favorite Things. Five Favorite Things is when we take turns naming our five favorite fill-in-the-blank items; vegetables, colors, songs, things you learned in school, etc. The other night this was the conversation that transpired at bedtime:

Me: Ok, I’m too tired to read, wanna play five favorite things?

Kid: Yes, but don’t snuggle me.

Me: Jeez! Ok, I’ll just be over here.

Kid: Mom, you know sometimes when your parents hug you and you’re just kind of over it?

Me: (thoughtful silence)

Kid: I mean, I love you, but… i guess… (sniffles) I’m just (sniffles) growing up (sobs). I don’t want to grow up! (Continues sobbing) I want to stay being a kid.

I won’t bore you with the rest of our conversation, where I assure her that she’s growing up into an awesome, smart, amazing girl, and its ok if she doesn’t want to hug me sometimes. And I tell her that sometimes I’ll hug her anyway just to embarass her. And she giggles and asks me to massage her hands like Grandma Cobbie used to do.  And I am simultaneously heartbroken and proud that my only kid is growing up.

She may grow up, but I hope she never outgrows her sense of style.

She may grow up, but I hope she never outgrows her sense of style.

About PGMG

Mama. Bookworm. Hiker. Music lover. Retro enthusiast. Eater of nachos.
This entry was posted in Family, Kids and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Growing Pains

  1. Jennifer says:

    GAH! I am not looking forward to that.

  2. JM Randolph says:

    This is so sweet. My littlest one is getting grown up too, and I’m just not down with it.

Leave a Reply

