Urban Farming! I’m doing it!

I couldn’t be happier that my garden is growing like crazy, so I’m going to boast like a proud parent and show off some pictures of the growing bounty. I’m sure there will be more to come as the melons, cukes, squash, potatoes, and everything else take over every patch of dirt in my yard.

When I was a kid we had frogs that lived in our strawberry patch. So far we’ve got no frogs, but hopefully we’ll get some tasty strawberries!

Seriously, strawberry flowers might be the cutest things ever.

I’m not a huge fan of green beans, so I’m growing a variety that is suppsedly good for drying. That way I can use them in soup, which I am a HUGE fan of.

Blue Lake bean flowers. They’re so pretty, I might be a little sad when they turn into beans. Well, not that sad.

My dad inspired me to grow some corn. He grew a ton of it last year and made it sound super easy. I don’t know why I thought you needed a farm the size of a small county to do it. So far they’re coming up just fine!

Corn. My first attempt. Not growing enough for a corn maze, or a crop circle, but I’m still pretty stoked about it.

Tomatos and bell peppers are a must. I planted six tomato plants this year, so we’re going to be eating a lot of salsa, gazpacho, and caprese salad.

Baby roma tomato with emo bangs.

Baby bell. Gonna be yellow someday.

One of my first garden memories is my dad cracking open a pea pod out of our garden and us eating them on the spot. I was thrilled to be able to do the same thing with The Kid last week. She proceeded to eat about half the harvest while we were shelling them. I didn’t complain.

Four peas in a pod! We also found a few five peas, but no octopeas. The kid named the pod with three peas after her three triplet friends from school.

We’re growing lots of flowers too. Here are few that have been making me extra happy.

Foxglove, my new favorite tall flower.

“Columbine, columbine, please alert this love of mine. Let him know his Margaret comes along.”

The scent of Sweet Alyssum is all over the back yard on hot days. Love it.

About PGMG

Mama. Bookworm. Hiker. Music lover. Retro enthusiast. Eater of nachos.
This entry was posted in Food, Home, Photography, Yard and Garden and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Urban Farming! I’m doing it!

  1. OK, even though you don’t like green beans, you HAVE TO try your Blue Lake green beans right off of the vine. They taste is amazing, and they are nothing like the canned icky ones we were force fed as kids. I picked the first ones last night from the garden, cut into small pieces, sauteed them a bit , added spinach and mushrooms, and added it all to pasta. YUMMO! Hope you like them.

Leave a Reply

