This Is Why We Hike

San Diego is feeling much more like home now that I have gathered some friends that love to get out and explore the great outdoors with me. I feel so fortunate to live in a place with such a variety of beautiful landscapes, and even more fortunate to have great people to enjoy it with. Thanks friends!

Last weekend we took a drive out east out near the tiny town of Ocotillo in Imperial County to do some exploring in a place called Domelands. The scenery is amazing and unearthly; we felt sort of like Jawas wandering around on Tatooine.  Millions of years ago the area was seabed, and evidence of that is everywhere if you look closely at the different layers of compacted earth and seashells that make up the cliffs. We even found some very intact fossilized clams and sand dollars.  Even the sparse plant life, particulary the ocotillos, look like plants you would find underwater. Its all very strange, considering that this area is now about a 2 hour drive from the coast. Enjoy these photos I took along the way, and get out there and do some exploring of your own!

 

About PGMG

Mama. Bookworm. Hiker. Music lover. Retro enthusiast. Eater of nachos.
This entry was posted in Photography, The Great Outdoors and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to This Is Why We Hike

  1. Rachel says:

    My oh my! Excellent pics! What camera did u use?

  2. Wow! I can’t believe I’ve never heard of Domelands, considering how much desert exploring we’ve done. Beautiful photos too. We should head out — the boys love the desert too.

  3. beckygfrank says:

    I thought I had come to Europe to explore. . . but thanks for the reminder that there is so much exciting beauty so close to home!

  4. These photos are amazing, Tricia! That second one is stunning. Makes me miss the California landscape (especially today – a rainy, cloudy, miserable London morning!)

  5. Jeremy says:

    Beautiful HDRs!!!

  6. JM Randolph says:

    Love, love, love these pictures. I have to admit I teared up a little. I miss the West so much. SOOOO much! Keep posting your adventures- I’m living vicariously through you!

  7. sddialedin says:

    These photos are beautiful. That second one is so dramatic. Love it!

  8. Pingback: Domelands Overnighter | Pretty Girls Make Gravy

  9. eric.rial says:

    Oh this is one I need to take my son too. Maybe we’ll get some Star Wars costumes. Can’t figure out if the land or the clouds are more eerie in some of those shots.

Leave a Reply

