20 Books in 2012

Once again, I’m taking part in the GoodReads Reading Challenge, and this year I’m challenging myself to read 20 books. I know what you’re thinking: Wait… what? Last year she read 45 books, why lower the bar? Well, here’s the thing, I’ve got several books I’d like to get through that have some serious girth. I figure if I pledge to read another 45 books, I’ll never get through the heavy ones that are weighing down my to-read list. As you can see from the “what I’m reading” section of my side bar, I’m currently working my way through A Game of Thrones, the first in the A Song of Ice and Fire series. I’d also like to read Shelby Foote’s three part series on the Civil War. These two series combined total almost 7,000 pages, so I may well exceed the number of pages I read in the 45 books from 2011 in those 8 books alone. We’ll see how I do, I’ve got some other (lighter, happier) things I’d like to get to as well; I don’t think I want to spend the entire year working my way through American Civil War and Medieval Fantasy War. A girl can only handle so much blood and guts.

As I did last year, I will update this blog post with the books I finish, and I’ll try to be better about writing reviews. If you feel compelled to purchase any of the books I post about, you can click on the book title and buy the book through Amazon, and PGMG will make a teeny tiny commission. I hope you are inspired to do some leisure reading this year, and please feel free to recommend books here, I am always looking for good books to add to my list and I know lots of others are too!

1. Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Café – Fannie Flagg (3 stars)

2. A Game of Thrones – George R.R. Martin (4 stars)

3. World Without End – Ken Follett (4 stars)

4. A Clash of Kings – George R. R. Martin (4 stars)

5. A Storm of Swords – George R. R. Martin (4 stars)

6. A Feast for Crows – George R. R. Martin (3 stars)

7. The Night Circus – Erin Morgenstern (5 stars)

8. A Dance with Dragons – George R. R. Martin (3 stars)

9. Ready Player One – Ernest Cline (4 stars)

10. The Psychopath Test – Jon Ronson (4 stars)

11. Moloka’i – Alan Brennart (4 stars)

12. How to Be a Woman – Caitlan Moran (4 stars)

13. The Moving Target – Ross MacDonald (3 stars)

14. Incognito: The Secret Lives of the Brain – David Eagleman (4 stars)

15. Gone Girl – Gillian Flynn (4 stars)

16. One Best Hike: Mt. Whitney – Elizabeth Wenk (5 stars)

17. Brain on Fire: My Month of Madness – Susannah Cahalan (5 stars)

18. The Fault In Our Stars – John Greene (3 stars)

19. The Boy Kings of Texas – Domingo Martinez (3 stars)

20. Everything is Illuminated – Jonathan Safran Foer (2 stars)

Curious about what I’ve already read? Click away…

2011 Reading List

Me and Books: A Reunion (Part 1)

Me and Books: A Reunion (Part 2)

About PGMG

Mama. Bookworm. Hiker. Music lover. Retro enthusiast. Eater of nachos.
This entry was posted in Books, Lists and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 20 Books in 2012

  1. Pingback: 20 Books in 2012: A Belated Best of List | Pretty Girls Make Gravy

  2. Pingback: Books and Books! Best of 2013 | Pretty Girls Make Gravy

Leave a Reply

