The Kindness of Strangers, and Kids

The other evening after work The Kid and I stopped at Ralph’s to pick up some desperately needed groceries on the way home. It was a relatively uneventful trip. We procured the basics: eggs, bread, milk, cereal, yogurt, and of course cookies.

Fast forward to bedtime, when I usually grab my kindle out of my purse and try to grab a few minutes of reading.

Wait, where is my purse?

 I checked the kitchen, where I had carried the groceries. I checked the car. Three times. I checked the cabinets where I had put away the groceries, becuase I have been known to place random things like keys and sunglasses in there from time to time. I even checked the refrigerator and the garbage. I was desperate. And apparantly my desperation was quite obvious becuase The Kid disappeared for a while and returned with what was maybe the cutest thing ever.

The Kid: Here mom, in case you can’t find your purse I got one ready for you to take to work tomorrow.

She hands me a Mickey Mouse purse that was given to her as a birthday gift last year.

Me: Oh, thanks. I’ll definitely use it if I can’t find mine.

I didn’t have the heart to say, thanks, but without my wallet, phone, glasses, lip gloss, or kindle, I don’t really need a purse.

The Kid: I also put some money in there for you.

Me: You did?

The Kid: Yeah, its my chinchilla money.

I lift the purse off the ground and sure enough, it feels like there is about $47.00 in change in there. All the money she has been saving in the hopes of one day purchasing a chinchilla.

I could have melted right there. At almost 8 years old she has been expanding her adventured in brattiness, but once in a while she does something that is so super sweet that it just kills me. Her offer of $47.00 in chinchilla money and a Mickey Mouse purse was almost enough to make me forget all about losing my wallet, identity theft, and not being able to apply lip gloss. But not quite.

Thankfully, The Boyfriend, also being super sweet, volunteered to call Ralphs just to check and see if anyone was kind enough to turn in. And glory be, someone was. The Boyfriend ran over to Ralphs and picked it up and my faith in humanity was restored when I found my purse intact, even down to the small amount of cash I had in there.

Thank you, Stranger! You have some good karma coming your way.

About PGMG

Mama. Bookworm. Hiker. Music lover. Retro enthusiast. Eater of nachos.
This entry was posted in Kids and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Kindness of Strangers, and Kids

  1. sahmjs says:

    What a great story! How encouraging for you for your daughter to do that. I thought 2 was hard, but now my son is in the 4’s and that has been his most difficult stage so far. Sounds like it just keeps going…. Ps-As a mom you’ll like this link called a Mom’s Guide to Caring for Little Teeth (http://www.1dental.com/moms-guide/). It’s got helpful tips for all ages.

Leave a Reply

