The new and improved bathroom!

This post was a long time in the making. Like seven months or so.  Yes, its true, after months of only taking baths and washing our hands in the kitchen, our bathroom is finally finished.  We can shower again! We can brush our teeth in the bathroom! Its the little things in life, you know? And now, a recap of the big project in pictures…

In the beginning… Vinyl shower, no bathtub, no sunlight, 1970’s vanity, hideous vinyl floor.

The only redeeming qualities were the original chrome medicine cabinet with sliding doors, the mirror and the light fixture.  So with the help of some friends, it was transformed…

But first, The Kid enjoyed taking a pretend bath in the living room when the new tub was delivered.

The old vinyl shower and ugly vanity were ripped out, and with a little muscle and geometric figuring, the tub was put into place. A lovely reproduction wood double hung window was fabricated and installed by San Diego Sash Company, and then it was time to start tiling. Tiling, tiling, and then more tiling. Weeks and weeks of tiling, all done in small increments after work and on weekends.

And now, may I present to you, the fruit of our labor. The new and improved 1950’s inspired bathroom…

Thanks a million to MS for the hours and hours of tiling prep, for doing the math, tiling much of the shower, and for showing me the basics so I could tackle the rest on my own.  I think I permanently ruined my elbow tiling that floor, but it was so worth it to see the end result, imperfect though it may be, and know I did it myself. The Kid was a great painting helper, she’s only seven and already paints like a true do-it-yourselfer.  She must be my kid!  Many thanks to BT and IW for spending a lovely Sunday with us finishing up the grouting and installing our pedestal sink, it was an unexpected blessing to get so much stuff done in one day.  And thanks to The Boyfriend for helping me with the toilet removal and reinstallation, the marathon floor tiling session, countless other little tasks that I made you do, and for putting up with a girlfriend who likes to do everything herself. You’re a trooper, babe.

To create this lovely bathroom we used the following fixtures:

American Standard “Princeton” tub

American Standard “Retrospect” console table and pedestal sink

Kohler “Fairfax” shower/tub and lavatory fixtures

Daltile white subway tile and black detail tiles

Daltile “Octagon and Dot” mosaic floor tile

About PGMG

Mama. Bookworm. Hiker. Music lover. Retro enthusiast. Eater of nachos.
This entry was posted in Home and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The new and improved bathroom!

  1. Roger says:

    Holy smokes! So much work, but it looks amazing.

  2. emily says:

    Nice work! It looks so great. I’m instantly transported to the Juanita house. Aahhh. The life of the DIYer. Pat yourself on the back. Job well done.

  3. Rachel Kanter says:

    Nice Job! Love the 1950’s inspiration; we are so meant to become friends! I am so NOT a DIY person that I take my hat off to you. My crafty parents don’t know how they screwed up to produce such an un-handy daughter. I like the picture of you with the table saw. Enjoy!

  4. molly says:

    This looks incredible, Tricia! Well done!! What an improvement and I love the pink/white/black combo 🙂

  5. Andi says:

    i love it! and all the more enjoyable for you because you did it yourself. GREAT job!!

  6. Leah says:

    Nice job! I found you from your comment on the Freshly Pressed post. As another San Diegan, I had to see what you were up to!

  7. janet kircher says:

    Where did you find the medicine cabinet. i love it!

    • PGMG says:

      Lucky for me, that medicine cabinet came with the house. It was the only thing in the bathroom that was original, and I loved it. I’m sure you can find them around if you look hard enough though. And I imagine someone will start making reproductions eventually, if they haven’t already!

Leave a Reply

