Taken for a Ride, in the Parking Lot

So after meeting my former co-workers for lunch downtown I got back to my car, which I had parked at Horton Plaza, and couldn’t find my validated parking lot ticket. Anywhere. Seriously. Tore my car apart for 30 minutes, retraced my steps through the parking lot, emptied my purse and wallet at least 3 times.

And of course, the kiosk worker and the office parking lot manager were both way less than sympathetic. I guess they didn’t think my iced tea cup from Starbucks was proof enough that I had spent money at Horton Plaza. $48 for a lost ticket!!!!!  I don’t think so, buddy. So instead of coughing up the equivalent of 5 Nordstrom lunches, I re-parked my car and formulated a plan…

Two pairs of shoes later, I took my receipt to a different exit and sweetly explained that I had lost my parking lot ticket but had my mall receipt for two pairs of shoes and asked if there was any way I could still exit. And kindly, the young man at the kiosk was able to help me out, even though apparently you’re supposed to have receipts showing you spent $500 in order for them to let you out without a ticket. Lesson learned. I will staple that receipt to my shirt next time, or park on the street for a dollar an hour.  I needed new shoes anyway…

About PGMG

Mama. Bookworm. Hiker. Music lover. Retro enthusiast. Eater of nachos.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

