Veggie Tales

Well, this is the week I finally decided to do something about the fact that we don’t eat enough vegetables around our house. I found what I hope will be a solution to our lack of vegetables, and will make me feel a little less bummed about the fact that I don’t have my own garden, and certainly don’t have my own farm.  So today I will pick up our first box of produce from Garden of Eden Organics. I’ve joined their CSA (Community Supported Agriculture) program, which means that once a week they will pack up a box of assorted produce they are currently harvesting and I can pick it up at a one of their drop-off locations around San Diego County. 

I’m pretty excited about this. I’ve really missed not having a garden in the past few years. I’m thinking that getting fresh, seasonal, locally grown produce from a farm right here in San Diego County is pretty much the next best thing. Plus, there is the added benefit of not having to pull weeds…

Of course, I’m a little concerned that I will end up eating the entire box myself, given The Boyfriend and The Kid’s disinterest in vegetables. If so, more good stuff for me I guess. But the point is to make all of us healthier, so in an effort to give some time to meal planning I’ve chosen Friday afternoons as our pick-up day.  I can devote some time Saturday morning to planning some super yummy stuff to make over the next week using our surprise veggies. Maybe I’ll post some recipes here so when y’all decide to join a CSA too, you can benefit from our little experiment.  Here’s hoping that our box is filled with good stuff we can work with… Wish us luck!

About PGMG

Mama. Bookworm. Hiker. Music lover. Retro enthusiast. Eater of nachos.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Veggie Tales

  1. mama says:

    Sound wonderful. I can’t wait to see what you get and how it all turns out. I’ll stay tuned. I still want to know where “pretty girls make grave originated”?

Leave a Reply

